By Prerna Bhardwaj
Meta’s very own instant messaging app WhatsApp is preparing to release a new feature that will enable the ‘group admin’ to delete any message for everyone. According to WhatsApp tracker WABetaInfo, once an admin deletes a message, the other users will see the ‘This was deleted by an admin’ text. It means that other people can always see that the admin has deleted something. The website also shared a screenshot of the new feature, “Admin Delete”.
Image credit: WABetaInfo
This move is intended to improve the user interface and is currently only available to some beta testers. However, soon it will be made available by Meta for more WhatsApp beta users. The new feature will roll out through the Google Play Beta Program, with the version up to 188.8.131.52. That said, some users might be able to find the feature after installing the previous update.
How to check if the ‘group admin’ feature is available for your WhatsApp account
It’s simple to check the availability of this feature, open the group in which you are an admin, try deleting any message sent by any member, and see if the option “delete for everyone” appears or not. If yes, the feature is available for you!
Lately, WhatsApp has also been working on many other features including, the storing disappearing chat feature which will convert a temporary message into a standard WhatsApp message after the expiration time. It is also working on the increment of the time limit of deleting a message for everyone to 2 days and 12 hours. However, there is no official confirmation about the same yet.
Source: 91 Mobiles.