Russia Ukraine news LIVE: Ukraine and Russia to meet for peace talks

Russia Ukraine news LIVE: Ukraine and Russia to meet for peace talks

The conflict in Ukraine continues this Sunday, with several attacks taking place over the course of Saturday night. There have already been many casualties on both sides during Russia’s invasion of Ukraine and, throughout the day, we’ll keep you updated with the latest developments from Kyiv and across the country in this Russia-Ukraine live blog.

Ukraine-Russia conflict: Images from the third day of the conflict

17:17 GMT / 11:17 CST: Fans give Ukraine standing ovation ahead of Carabao Cup Final

At Wembley Stadium, the crowd erupted in applause before the match between Chelsea and Liverpool this afternoon.

The moment was recorded by television cameras in an act of solidarity of the fans with the citizens of Ukraine.

17:10 GMT / 11:10 CST: 3 killed, including child, by cluster munitions at preschool: Report

According to Amnesty International, 3 people were killed, including a child, and one child was injured after cluster munitions hit a preschool in northeastern Ukraine Friday.

Civilians were taking shelter inside the Sonechko nursery and kindergarten in Okhtyrka in Sumy Oblast when the munitions were dropped, the NGO reported.

17:05 GMT / 11:05 CST: Russian Defense Ministry reports Russian soldiers killed in Ukraine offensive

Russia’s Defense Ministry said Sunday that Russian soldiers were killed and wounded during an offensive in Ukraine, but added that their losses were far lower than those suffered by Ukraine, without specifying a number, Interfax news agency reported.

17:00 GMT / 11:00 CST: EU will sanction ‘Belarusians helping the Russian war effort’

President of the European Commission Ursula von der Leyen said the European Commission will “introduce restrictive measures against their most important sectors, stooping their exports of products from mineral fuels to tobacco, wood and timber, cement, iron and steel”.

Leyen added that Ukrainian refugees would be welcomed into EU countries.

16:50 GMT / 10:50 CST: European Union prepares for millions of Ukrainian refugees

The European Union Commissioner for Home Affairs Ylva Johansson said on Sunday that the EU needs to prepare for millions of Ukrainian refugee arrivals.

“It’s very difficult to guess how many, but I think we should be prepared for millions,” Johansson said.

So far “around 300,000 Ukrainians have come to the EU member states.”

16:43 GMT / 10:43 CST: Russian forces are about 31 miles outside southeast city of Mariupol, according to US defense official

A senior US defense official said Russian forces are 50 kilometers, or approximately 31 miles, outside the city center of Mariupol, a city on the Sea of Azov in the southeast of Ukraine.

The US believes the city will be “well-defended” based on what the US knows about Ukrainian military positions, the official added.

While Russian forces are not moving on Odessa as of right now, there is some Russian military posturing in the Black Sea.

16:36 GMT / 10:36 CST: Japan to sanction Putin and join Russian SWIFT ban, NHK says

According to Japanese public broadcaster NHK, Prime Minister Kishida Fumio said Japan will sanction the financial assets of Russian President Vladimir Putin “and other key government officials” following Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

Prime Minister Fumio said Russia’s actions are a violation of international law that Japan strongly condemns.

16:31 GMT / 10:31 CST: Missiles hit radioactive waste disposal site, no damage reported

According to Ukrianian officials, some Russian missiles struck the site of a radioactive waste disposal facility in Kyiv overnight,

There were no reports of damage or any indications of a radioactive release.

The strike came a day after an electrical transformer at a similar disposal facility near the northeastern city of Kharkiv had been damaged.

16:28 GMT / 10:28 CST: NATO secretary general on Putin’s nuclear readiness move

NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg said Russian President Vladimir Putin’s order for his country’s deterrence forces – including nuclear arms – to be placed on high alert, is part of a “dangerous rhetoric.”

“If you combine this rhetoric with what they’re doing on the ground in Ukraine, waging war against an independent sovereign nation, conducting a fully-fledged invasion of Ukraine, this adds to the seriousness of the situation,” he told CNN on Sunday.

16:18 GMT / 10:18 CST: Turkey recognizes the Russian invasion to Ukraine as “war”

Turkish Foreign Minister Mevlt avuolu said on Sunday that Turkey has decided that Russia’s invasion to Ukraine is a “war”.

“Is this a conflict or a war? We decided on that. Article 19 of the Montreux Convention is very clear. This is a war.” he said in a live interview to CNN Turk.

16:05 GMT / 10:05 CST: Russia reacts to sanctions: suspends space launches from French Guiana

The Russian space agency, Roscosmos, suspended all launches of its Soyuz rocket from the European spaceport in South America following sanctions imposed by the European Union.

“In response to EU sanctions against our enterprises, Roscosmos is suspending cooperation with European partners” on space launches from Europe’s spaceport in French Guiana, Roscosmos chief Dmitry Rogozin said in a statement posted Saturday on Twitter, according to a translation.

Roscosmos said it will also withdraw 87 personnel from the South American launch site who work for several Russian companies to support the launch of Soyuz rockets.

15:59 GMT / 09:59 CST: Spain to close airspace to Russian airlines

According to the Spanish Ministry for Transport, Spain will close its airspace to Russian airlines.

The Ministry for Transport announced the move in a tweet Sunday saying the country would “proceed to close its air space to Russian airlines” following the European Union’s directives of cooperation.

In addition to Spain, Germany, Italy, France and Canada are the countries that have closed their airspace to Russian airlines this weekend in the wake of Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

15:53 GMT / 09:53 CST: US to provide $54M in humanitarian aid for Ukrainians

The United States will provide $54 million in humanitarian aid to help Ukrainians, Secretary of State Antony Blinken said on Sunday.

“This assistance enables humanitarian organizations to support citizens of Ukraine already in need and those newly affected by Russia’s unprovoked and unjustified attack,” he said on Twitter.

With the new funding, the U.S. has provided about $405 million in humanitarian aid to Ukraine since 2014, Ned Price, spokesperson for the State Department, said on Twitter.

15:47 GMT / 09:47 CST: Ukraine’s ambassador to US: “We’re not ready to surrender”

Ukrainian Ambassador to the United States Oksana Markarova showed optimism following the news of the start of talks with Russia to end the invasion in Ukraine, but said her country is “not ready to surrender”

“Our president, from the beginning, even before the war started, always focused – was focused on the diplomatic solution,” Markarova said in an ABC News interview on Sunday. “And even after the war started, he actually called for peace talks all the time, but he always said, we’re ready for peace talks, we’re not ready to surrender.”

15:41 GMT / 09:41 CST: Doctors Without Borders suspends its activity in Ukraine

Doctors Without Borders, the humanitarian organization known for providing medical care in conflict zones, said Friday that it is suspending its work inside Ukraine.

“Our teams in Belarus and Russia stand ready to provide humanitarian assistance if needed and we are looking to send teams to other neighbouring countries to be ready on stand-by, either for response in Ukraine or to provide humanitarian medical assistance to refugees seeking asylum abroad,” the organization said in a press release.

15:37 GMT / 09:37 CST: Russia’s invasion of Ukraine to be part of Biden’s State of the Union address, White House says

Russia’s ongoing invasion of Ukraine will be included in U.S. President Joe Biden’s State of the Union address on Tuesday, White House press secretary Jen Psaki said Sunday.

“I think there’s no question that in the State of the Union, the American people and anybody watching around the world will hear the President talk about the efforts that he has led over the past several months to build a global coalition to fight against the autocracy and the efforts of President Putin to invade a foreign country. That is certainly something that is present in all of our lives and certainly in the President’s life in this moment,” Psaki told ABC’s George Stephanopoulos on “This week.”

15:27 GMT / 09:27 CST: White House official says Putin’s move on deterrent forces is “another unnecessary step”

A senior Biden administration official says Russian President Vladimir Putin’s decision to put his country’s deterrence forces, including nuclear arms, on high alert, is “yet another escalatory and totally unnecessary step,” a senior Biden administration official says.

15:17 GMT / 09:17 CST: Over 4,000 detained across Russia, independent monitoring group says.

According to independent monitoring site OVD-Info, since the Kremlin ordered an invasion of Ukraine, Russian authorities have detained a total of 4,124 people for participating in unsanctioned anti-war protests across the country.

484 were detained in Moscow alone.

15:07 GMT / 09:07 CST: Ukraine-Russia talks will happen Monday

Ukrainian Deputy Interior Minister Evgeny Yenin said that talks between the Russian and Ukrainian delegations will take place on Monday morning local time.

President Volodymyr Zelensky’s office said Belarus President Aleksander Lukashenko called the Ukrainian President earlier Sunday.

“The politicians have agreed that the Ukrainian delegation will meet with the Russian delegation without preconditions on the Ukrainian-Belarusian border, near the Pripyat River,” his office said.

“Aleksander Lukashenko has taken responsibility for ensuring that all planes, helicopters and missiles stationed on the Belarusian territory will remain on the ground during the Ukrainian delegation’s travel, meeting and return,” the office continued.

14:30 GMT / 08:30 CST: Arrests at anti-war protest in St Petersburg

There have been several protest marches held in cities across Russia, but the government has tried to crack down on these and several people have been arrested at one of the rallies in St Petersburg.

Arrests at anti-war protest in St Petersburg

14:00 GMT / 08:00 CST: Ukrainian and Russian delegations to meet for peace talks

Ukrainian president Volodymyr Zelenskiy has stated that the Ukrainian and Russian delegations will meet for peace talks and that there are no preconditions to these talks. They are expected to meet at the Ukrainian-Belarusian border, near the Pripyat River.

13:30 GMT / 07:30 CST: Putin puts Russia’s nuclear deterrence forces on high alert

Vladimir Putin has moved to put the Russian military’s nuclear deterrence forces on high alert. This, he claims, is in response to aggressive statements made by NATO countries as well as economic sanctions.

13:10 GMT / 07:10 CST: Ukraine win the Battle of Kharkiv

According to Kharkiv’s governor Oleh Synyehubov, Ukraine have repelled a Russian attempt to take control of this city. There were street battles, which he claims Ukraine have won, with some Russian soldiers now surrendering.

12:45 GMT / 06:45 CST: Anonymous’ message for Putin

The hacktivist group Anonymous have declared cyber war against Russia and Putin, posting a video message for the Russian leader. “Your secrets may no longer be safe and there is a chance that key components of your government’s infrastructure could be hijacked,” they warned.

12:10 GMT / 06:10 CST: Belarus set to declare war on Ukraine

Andriy Zagorodnyuk, Ukraine’s former defence minister, has explained why he believes Belarus will also declare war on Ukraine. “The Republic of Belarus is highly likely to join the Russian war against Ukraine, on the Russian side,” he said. “There is information about airborne troopers from the Republic of Belarus loaded on planes about to enter Ukraine. This is a terrible development as it involves a country that was a great friend of Ukraine.”

11:50 GMT / 05:50 CST: Belarus reportedly launch missiles into Ukraine

According to reports, Belarus’ leader Alexander Lukashenko claims that missiles have been launched from Belarus into Ukraine, seemingly in response to Ukraine deploying missile divisions near the border.

11:20 GMT / 05:20 CST: Refugee numbers hit 368,000

The UN Refugee Agency has provided an update, claiming the number of Ukrainian refugees has hit 368,000 as people have fled to Poland, Hungary, Moldova, Slovakia and Romania.

11:10 GMT / 05:10 CST: Ukraine files lawsuit against Russia at the Hague

Ukraine has filed a lawsuit against Russia at the UN International Court of Justice, the country’s president Volodymyr Zelenskiy has said. That court at the Hague settles international disputes and Zelenskiy wants an order against Russia to be handed down.

10:40 GMT / 04:40 CST: 4,300 Russian troops killed so far

The Ukrainian Defense Ministry has claimed that around 4,300 Russian troops have been killed so far, with 706 Russian APCs, 146 tanks, 27 planes and 26 helicopters having been destroyed since the conflict started.

10:00 GMT / 04:00 CST: Russian forces are bypassing Chernihiv

A report from the UK Ministry of Defence has stated that Russian forces are bypassing Chernihiv because they found strong resistance there. They instead want to focus on encircling and isolating Kyiv.

09:15 GMT / 03:15 CST: More than 14m dollars crowdfunded for Ukrainian military

The Ukrainian Minister of Digital Transformation Mykhailo Fedorov has announced that over 14m dollars has been crowdfunded online and this money will go towards supporting the Ukrainian military.

08:45 GMT / 02:45 CST: Russian banks being removed from Swift system

The Swift international banking payment system will remove certain Russian banks from accessing the system, after calls from several countries. “We are engaging with European authorities to understand the details of the entities that will be subject to the new measures and we are preparing to comply upon legal instruction,” Swift said in a statement.

08:20 GMT / 02:20 CST: Russia could place nuclear weapons in Belarus

A referendum is to be quickly organised and held this Sunday in Belarus, with the result potentially allowing Russia to place nuclear weapons in that territory and to point them in Ukraine. Several media outlets are reporting this, although Belarus president Lukashenko has reportedly denied this in a phone call with Macron.

08:00 GMT / 02:00 CST: Ukraine rejects negotiations talk

After Russian spokesperson Dmitry Peskov told reporters a Russian delegation had arrived in Belarus for talks with Ukraine, Ukraine’s president Volodymyr Zelenskiy has said he would be willing to talk but not in Belarus, since they have “showed aggression towards Ukraine”.

07:30 GMT: / 01:30 CST: Russian troops have entered Kharkiv

Kharkiv, a city in northeast Ukraine, was involved in heavy fighting during the night, with the governor there confirming that Russian troops have entered the city. Regular citizens have been urged to remain inside and to take shelter.

Source: Culled From Marca.

Latest News